Book Cover Analysis: Teenage Fiction

Title: Everything Everything
Author: Nicola Yoon
Illustrator: Good Wives and Warriors
Format: hardback

Publisher: Decolarate Press (an imprint of Random Houses Children’s Books)
Year: 2015
Cover finish: spot UV and debossed
ISBN: 978-0-553-4966-2
Extent: 310 pages
Spine Width: 1 inch
Age Range: 13+

10_everythingeverything_final_ext

Following on from week one of Production, I used this book as my example to write a book brief but since I feel as though I have a lot to say about this design.

Whilst browsing Amazon, I was searching within my recommendations and this cover caught my eye due to the colour palette and the simplicity, but at the same time, detailed, cover design.

book_cover_03

From my observations, I understand the decisions made by the publishing house to use this design.  The cover appeals to the young audience but also the older audience – i.e. me. The contrast of the simplicity of blue on white and intricate detail reflects the plot of the book – a poorly young girl who is bound in her white, clinical house and spends her days gazing upon the world outside her window. It is visually appealing to an audience of all ages. This was a clever move made by the Decolarate Press production team. Their decision to use this cover to target a teen book at an older audience worked – it is very possible that without this cover, I may not have bought this book.

A further look into the book:

Image

This is an example of a double page spread in this book. This gives an insight into the typestting, font and illustrations. On first read, I did not realise that there was going to be illustrations so this was a nice surprise. I think that it really adds depth to the character – she is confined and this makes us feel even closer to the character. The illustrations are a really nice effect for the YA reader, and even being older than a teenager, I really liked these and thought it really connected the reader and the book together – it gave a glimpse into her life through both text and graphics.

The endpapers (as seen below) are very unique. They are plain white but with tiny, grey specks on them. They are very faint so whilst handling the book it may not be something you first notice. I really like this and it is not something I have seen before. Regarding the plot, I think it is meant to represent tiny bits of dust in the air which have possible harmful contamination for Madeline.

Image (1).png
Close-up of the endpapers

Whilst thinking about the cover design and the admiration I have for it, I have my own thoughts about how I would design a cover for this book. On similar lines with the contrasting white and multi-colour detail, I would develop this further. I would still have the white base colour but this time to represent the walls within her home. There would be Madeline, the protagonist, sat at her laptop inside whilst looking through a small window. The window would be filled withas much colour as possible to represent the life outside of the walls that she is bound within. Like the existing design, this represents the same notions in the book and the contrast between inside and the Outside.

More book cover illustrations by Good Wives and Warrior can be found here. They have also done work for Adidas, Swatch, Chevrolet and album covers. I really like their style of illustration ( more can be seen via the link to their website). I think it represents the uniqueness of the character and also represents Nicola’s creative flow and attention to detail.

More illustrations by Good Wives and Warriors:

Screen Shot 2017-04-10 at 2.29.04 PM

Screen Shot 2017-04-10 at 2.30.19 PMScreen Shot 2017-04-10 at 2.32.21 PM

Similar Illustrators:

Dominique Falla

I really like this book cover. Although not quite illustrations as such, here is a really interesting post about this eye-catching design using a technique called string art. A novel also by Nicola Yoon. I also really love this design due to the colour palette and the technique is something I have not really come across before. I really like the effect of this.

TheSunIsAlsoAStar.jpg

Sometimes, I prefer cover designs which are done in manually rather than using computer graphics. I like the authentic feel and the effect of texture and creativity. I love the way that the colour of the string appears blended, but when you look carefully, you can see that each string is only one colour – it is the way that they have been positioned created this ombre effect. Even the detail to the shape of the lettering is done carefully and precisely which creates even more depth and effect to each letter.

Teagan White

Screen Shot 2017-04-10 at 2.24.05 PM

Taegan created her own adaptation of the Everything Everything book cover design as seen below.

Screen Shot 2017-04-10 at 3.00.00 PM

Screen Shot 2017-04-10 at 3.01.09 PM.png

She created this for a competition for Penguin Random House, but the actual design was not used. Taegan also has a blog which she talks about her illustrations and posts more of her work.

Disclaimer: images are screenshots taken from their websites.

More interesting things:

10 Tips for Effective Book Covers – Writer’s Digest

What Makes a Brilliant Book Cover?Wired

What Makes a Good Book CoverBusiness of Illustration

Leave a Reply

